Showing posts with label redbull. Show all posts
Showing posts with label redbull. Show all posts

Friday, August 28, 2009

A Few Good Men


I've seen this movie before, and you can usually find it on some of my top 10 lists, but rather than review it (it should be a classic in everyone's eyes....), I'd like to share the moment when I first saw this film...

I was maybe about 15 when I first saw this movie, and it was during a Boy Scout retreat. We were going white water rafting for the weekend, and on our way down to the campsite, we drove in our Scoutmaster's car, who also happened to be the father of my good friend, Steve. Now, this car was sweet because it was one of those vans that had a tv in it so that we could hook up the Nintendo 64 (yup....old school....) and watch movies. So after we had enough of GoldenEye on the N64, we decided to watch "A Few Good Men."

Now, I had never heard of this movie before, but I HAD heard one of it's most famous quotes before ("You want the truth? You can't handle the truth!"), but I just never knew it was in this film. So we're watching the movie, and we get to the campsite, and it's not finished. So we continue to watch the film as everyone else sets up their tents (I know, so scout-like of us, lol), but before you know it, all the other scouts start piling in the car to join us. So we get to the part where Jack Nicholson gets put on the stand, and the conversation between him and Tom Cruise gets heated, and FINALLY...he says it....

"You want the truth? You can't HANDLE the truth!"

And then the power shut off....

And it was a beautiful moment! It was like we were meant to see the movie ONLY for that one quote! And honestly, I don't even remember watching the rest of the film until a few years later, but I just remember that line, and the amazing acting on all accounts, and even though I think lawyer movies are super boring, I thought this one was more than entertaining.

And so, that's my story about seeing "A Few Good Men," and I don't think I'll ever forget it... :)

Clearly, this movie needs NO RED BULLS!!!

Monday, August 17, 2009

The Ruins

Flesh-eating plants!?!?!? At least Jenna Malone got away...

And if you think I spoiled anything for you, TRUST ME...I didn't...

(At least it was better than The Happening...) ;)

I give this movie AT LEAST 3 REDBULLS
(meaning I would need AT LEAST 3 Redbulls to stay awake to watch this film again....lots of stress on the phrase, "AT LEAST"...)

Tuesday, August 11, 2009

(500) Days of Summer


This movie was super cute! I've always been a fan of Joseph Gordon-Levitt, but Zooey was also perfectly cast this time around. The connection between the two of them was very natural and beautiful all at once.

And I have to admit, the story was better than I expected... At first, I thought the scenes were going to be too choppy for me, as the timeline kept skipping back and forth between the end of the 500 days and the beginning of it. But as the film progressed, the jumping of time made perfect sense and it never got confusing. It also made many of the moments funnier than called for, so that's always a plus.

What I DIDN'T LIKE, however, was that it "WASN'T" a love story! The narrator says so from the beginning, and it makes sense when you read the end of the movie, but I WANTED a love story! As an optimist, I WANTED the "perfect ending" so to speak. (But then again, I also wanted Dawson and Joey to end up together on "Dawson's Creek," but we all know what happened there....) I guess the ending made me sad, even though I KNEW it was coming, but it made me think about our own relationships and if two people, whether they be friends or lovers, ever really DO stay together for the rest of their lives. What if I WANT to find someone to be with forever? Is that too much to ask for? According to this movie....it is..... :(

I give this movie only 1 REDBULL!
(meaning I would only need 1 Redbull to sit and watch it all over again)


***Feel free to comment, and THANKS FOR READING! (Tell your friends...) ;)

Julia & Julia


This movie was precious! First of all, anything Meryl Streep touches turns to gold. She takes so much pride in her work, and it ALWAYS pays off! She was the perfect Julia Child, so bravo to her! :)

As for Amy Adams, her journey was just as precious. She is so natural and heart-felt, this was the perfect role for her.

But I must admit, I think the best moment was seeing Jane Lynch as Julia Child's sister! I LOVE THIS WOMAN!!!! She is hilarious! And she's never a leading role, but she doesn't have to be. I truly believe she steals the show every time she appears on screen, whether it be in film or television. I can only hope my acting career can be as good as hers one day.... ;)

As for the movie as a while, it was very inspirational. It made me appreciate this blog more, especially after everything Amy's Julia goes through. It was very encouraging. But I have to say, the movie sort of ended randomly. I was expecting to see a little more about Julia Child in the end, but for what it was, it was very adorable.

I give this movie 1.5 REDBULLS!!!
(As cute as it was, I would still need 1 and a half Redbulls to watch this movie over again....unless I only had to watch the Meryl Streep scenes, lol)

Friday, July 31, 2009

Ghost Town

Ghost Town Review

Ok, I love Ricky Gervais, but for some reason, the trailer made this movie look soooooo cheesy, but it was adorable! Teo Leoni is also a personal favorite of mine, as well as Greg Kennear. So I don't know how I thought this was going to be a bad film, lol.

But I particularly loved the message attached to this piece. Of course, Ricky Gervais' character gets roped into helping the dead (or ghosts, in this case) with their unfinished business. And let me tell you, I bawled. I had a best friend who committed suicide during my senior year of college about 3 years back, and I can only wish he would send me some sort of sign to explain as to why he did it. Part of me also wishes I could be like Ricky Gervais in this film and help those in reality cope with death and the loss of their loved ones. I feel that when my friend died, he taught me that death is just another part of life, and this film sort of hit that same feeling for me... :)

Also, big shout out to Kristen Wiig! I LOVE THAT WOMAN!!!! :)

I give this movie only HALF a REDBULL
(meaning I would only need half a Redbull to watch it all over again, lol)

Congrats to putting together a great film, cast and crew of Ghost Town! You truly touched home for me... :)

Thursday, June 11, 2009

Rachel Getting Married

Rachel Getting Married Movie Poster

This....movie.....was.....BEAUTIFUL!!!!  I had heard it was good when it was in the theaters, but no one told me it was THAT GOOD!!!!  I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone.  Although the story line is hard to deal with, the acting is truly sincere and heartfelt.  

I give this move NO REDBULLS!!!!
(meaning I would need NO REDBULLS to stay awake...I was captured the entire time!)  :)

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Taken

liam-neeson-taken-poster.jpg image by Freckles_pics2

Saw the movie "Taken" last night.  It was pretty good.  A lot better than I expected.  I mean, after seeing the trailer, we all knew this movie was about revenged.  Guy has a daughter.  Daughter gets taken.  Guy goes after her kidnappers.  But it was more than that...
 
The plot was very well written.  And the characters were much more intriguing than I thought they would have been.  Even the action sequences were pretty good.  I must admit that I was rooting for Liam Neeson's character the whole time.  :)

SO.......I give this movie 2 REDBULLS!
(In other words, if I were super tired, I would only need 2 Redbulls to stay awake for this film, lol)  :)

So good job, "Taken" crew....I thought I was going to be bored, but I wasn't....

Friday, June 5, 2009

He's Just Not That Into You

My review for "He's Just Not That Into You..."
He's Just Not That Into You
When this movie first came out, it got mixed reviews at the box office.  Granted, I never usually let that affect me from seeing a movie, but I just never found the time and held off from seeing it...but I'm disappointed I did....

This movie was GREAT!  MUCH BETTER than I expected it to be, but maybe because I didn't expect that much after all the hype about it had died down.  

Now, I have to admit, this movie was also EXTREMELY PREDICTABLE!  

*******SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!*******

If anyone didn't see it coming that Gigi (Ginnifer Goodwin) and Alex (Justin Long) would get together in the end, I am declaring you legally blind.  We all knew it was going to happen, but what I liked about their relationship is that Alex didn't realize he was in love with Gigi until she told him about her feelings for him.   And isn't that how love usually works?  The best relationships come from those we never expect to work out....

Also, there was lots of "poetic justice" in the movie, too.  (ANOTHER SPOILER!!!!)  We all saw it coming that Neil (Ben Affleck) would eventually give in and propose to Beth (Jennifer Aniston), but it still made me cry because it was a beauitful moment.  Also was glad that Ben (Bradley Cooper) got what was coming to him, because he played the perfect "cheating douchebag."  And much love to Jennifer Connelly for her role as Janine.  Her character was very natural, yet she had some great moments!  She brought much depth to someone who could have been boring.

Anyway, all in all, this movie as a whole captured a great part of life that we ALL go through....sometimes, the guys or girls we meet just aren't into us, and that's it.  Therefore, I give this movie.....

ONLY 1.5 REDBULLS!!!
(meaning....I would only need 1.5 redbulls to stay awake to watch this film, and make those sugar free....and out of 5 redbulls, that's like a 3.5 out of 5 stars....)

Great job, cast of "He's Just Not That Into You!"  As for everyone else, if he's not calling you, just deal with it, because he's just not that into you.... :)